Out of Sight, Out of Mind

I unsubscribed from jcrew.com.  I opted out of emails from Victoria’s Secret.  I said no to Amazon, Zappos, Urban Outfitters, Ann Taylor Loft, Barns & Noble, Nordstrom, Target, Pottery Barn, Sundance…

Out of sight, out of mind.  If it’s not in front of you, you forget about it.  You don’t think to want it.

out_of_sight_out_of_mind_by_mrjmendes-d31wmzb

Nine times out of ten, we don’t know we’re supposed to want something until a catalogue, commercial, or store display gives us the idea.  Then suddenly, we turn a critical eye towards ourselves.  How much better would rainy days be if I had a chic rain jacket?  How much more relaxing could home be if I had a beautiful new couch?

Catalogues and commercials aren’t always bad.  Sometimes they give us great ideas and inspire us to try new styles and designs.  It’s important to experiment with new things and to always keep thinking and learning.  Sometimes store displays are a great place to start.

But a lot of times, they make me feel horrible.  They make me feel like my clothes are wrong, my accessories lacking and my surroundings sub-par.  And I usually feel good!  I like what I have and I continually re-evaluate to see what I can pare down and replace with more suitable items or with nothing.  But when a glossy, colorful catalogue taunts me, I often feel like I come up short.

It’s important to pay attention to ourselves when we feel restless and need a change.  It’s equally important to notice where that restlessness comes from.  Is it an internal urge?  Is it from external forces that encourage consumerism and materialism by making you feel bad about what you have?

About Eva

I make your online business project better. I write about careers, being, productivity, and money.
This entry was posted in Consuming, Me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

