Rock those heels, baby

heels

Check Wendy’s heels. Awesome (and optional).

About a month ago, some guy tweeted a picture of a woman’s high heels accompanied by the suggestion that wearing heels is stupid and illogical.  What a dummy.  (Sexism just never gets old, does it?)

Wearing high heels comes fraught with meaning and often judgement, in a damned-if-you-do, damned-if-you-don’t situation.  Jen Dziura points out that

There really aren’t any “neutral” shoes for women. Maybe we should all wear plain black flats? But not too round-toed, lest we look like little girls, or too pointy, lest we look like the saucy little tarts we obviously are for showing up at a conference.

We’re familiar with the feminist fight to make heel-wearing optional, rather than an expectation or requirement (gratitude).  Shoe choices shouldn’t be enforced unless the construction site or industrial kitchen where you’re Getting It Done poses a danger to your exposed toes.

But let’s not dwell on the negative – the judgement or baggage that comes with high heels.  What about the power?  The sexy, inherent femininity?  The irresistible tapping that accompanies your high-heeled stride?

Maureen Rice writes about the best career advice she received: if you’ve got a big meeting, wear big heels.  “I wore my highest heels, and not only did they lend me height, but an extra layer of confidence and assertiveness.”  And,

“In a room full of corporate ‘suits’, our shoes were a subtle reminder of our gender, a nod to our individuality – and a reminder that women do things a little differently.

Boom.

Rock those heels: sans guilt, ignore condescension, make your choices.  Take ’em on.

About Eva

I make your online business project better. I write about careers, being, productivity, and money.
This entry was posted in Clothes & Style and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rock those heels, baby

  1. starfish says:

    I think “choice” and “optional” are the magic words here. If I was told I had to wear heels to be taken seriously by guys (no matter wether in professional or private setting), I’d tell them something was wrong with their view of the world. Personally, most of the time I feel more confident when I feel I can run and fight in my shoes, while heels are reserved for very, very special occasions where I don’t have to walk a lot and when I want to feel more “classy” 🙂

    • Eva says:

      Option and choice – agreed! Nine times out of ten I choose comfort over heels but I do feel special/fancy when I don the “big girl” shoes.

Leave a Reply

