I moved!

IMG_2937Moving is tough.  It’s hard to tell how many things you truly have until you put them all in boxes!  Though I’ve pared down so much over the past several years, I was still overwhelmed by how many trips to the car it took to empty my old place.

At first I packed carefully: I packed by season and mixed books in with clothes so nothing would be too heavy.  I catalogued as I went.  But it came down to putting things wherever they fit.

I’m minimizing as I unpack, letting go of papers and cards and some clothes.  I am trying to be wary of every new thing that potentially enters my current house.  Some things can’t be avoided – a shower curtain and a couch, for instance.  By keeping an eye on things and double-checking all purchases, I hope to keep my list of possessions from exploding!

 

About Eva

I make your online business project better. I write about careers, being, productivity, and money.
This entry was posted in Consuming, Me, Organization. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I moved!

  1. starfish says:

    Moving is brutally honest. I never had a lot of things apart from books and the likes until I moved from a shared place into an apartment of my own – and when moving out of it last year (and to a bigger place together with my husband) I was confronted with a whole new level of “stuff” to be hauled across the city from two places. Luckily we didn’t have to move a couch around. We were given an old couch after moving in but replaced it with wooden palettes and two huge beanbag chairs this month – so much easier to carry this set-up down the stairs next time we move! I envy your ability to pare down as you go – most of my moves were between pretty confined spaces, so it included a lot of last minute packing because otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to walk around in the apartment for the last few days, and when unpacking I had the same problem. Enjoy your new home! One curious question, though – do you decorate, or do you go with a minimal amount of “shiny” things?

    • Eva says:

      Packing gets hectic! Despite my best intentions, it came down to shoving things in boxes and bags. I didn’t have as much time to pare as I went, so paring has started since I moved (nothing dramatic – a few pieces of clothing and an old purse). You’re probably a pro after moving to and from small spaces! I love decorating, so I do have shiny stuff. I reference this post by Miss Minimalist (http://www.missminimalist.com/2011/04/100-possessions-monk%E2%80%99s-bowl/) when it comes to making my surroundings pretty and appealing.

      • starfish says:

        Her blog is awesome, I’m really sad she doesn’t post more often at the moment! I have so many shiny/weird but meaningless things, but I’m trying to limit new stuff to more meaningful items and replace old things with these.

Leave a Reply

