Define Your Own Success

emptyschedule

Six weeks ago, I gave my notice at work.  Two Fridays ago was my last day in the office.

It’s exciting! It’s been my goal for years to start a professional organizing business, to help people create systems to keep their professional and personal lives running smoothly. I’m also doing marketing consulting. It’s an experimental professional year as I try solopreneurship and freelancing and see what I like.

However, the transition away from a 9-5 job is tough. I knew it would be an adjustment, but I didn’t imagine the isolation or insecurity. I love to work hard, and I know I can do it. But it is not an automatic skill set (for me).

I read a lot of articles about entrepreneurship and consulting. There are many resources for self-starters. While I find these articles inspiring and exhilarating, I sometimes find them them overwhelming and intimidating.  These writers have done it already. They’ve started businesses, created blogs, published books, and made themselves known.  They’ve made it.  They’re “there.”

I am impatient and anxious to get “there” myself. But where? Where is “there”? A friend said,

And the whole “there” thing anyways? I want to save you a lot of time and energy: IT IS AN ILLUSION. I mean, what is it anyways? Having money? Well, how much? Being recognized for awesomeness? By whom? Having your own business? When you move over from where recognition/feedback is coming from an external source (school, grades, your boss, quarterly reviews) and move to where you have a blank slate, you get to define success. And I think a big part of that is realizing that right now, you are a success. Trust me: YOU ARE GOING TO LAND ON YOUR FEET.

Here’s to defining success.  What’s your definition?

About Eva

I make your online business project better. I write about careers, being, productivity, and money.
This entry was posted in Being, Career, Me, Quotes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

