What do minimalism, the environment, and finances have in common?

Has it ever happened to you that a bunch of ideas come into your life, one after the other, and they all tie together?

That’s what happened to me with minimalism, my job, and finances.  Here’s a timeline:

November 5, 2011: I learn about minimalism through this post by Miss Minimalist.
January 2012: I spend several weeks purging the boxes under my bed and in my closet, downsizing my wardrobe and knick-knacks, and feel like a new person.
September 2012: I start my job as an executive assistant at an environmental grocery company.  I start learning more about organics and the environment.
January 2, 2013: I start this blog!
April 26, 2013: my dad introduces me to The Washington Post article on Mr Money Mustache.  I am hooked.
May 24, 2013: I write about my obsession with Mr Money Mustache’s blog.
April-May, 2014: I read The Two Income Trap, Early Retirement Extreme, and I start Your Money or Your Life.

Two ways to be richMinimalism showed up in my life when I was feeling overwhelmed and uncomfortable by the amount of stuff my young, single self possessed.  Turns out, owning and buying less is a great environmental and financial practice.  Buying less dramatically reduces your carbon footprint.  So does eating organic.  Lower living expenses have everything to do with financial independence.  So does not owning a car.  Which is easy on the environment.  Etc.

These compatible ways of life came to me with beautiful timing, and have dramatically changed how I spend money and time, what’s in my living space, what I wear, and what I do.

Here is to timing!  I am grateful.

About Eva

Chief Marketing Consultant for North America's North America’s most recognized women entrepreneurs and leaders in the women helping women economy.
This entry was posted in Consuming, Environmentalism, I'm Reading, Me, Minimizing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment